Nominations Sought for SAA’s Spotlight Award

Spotlight Award

Purpose and Criteria for Selection:

Established in 2005, this award recognizes the contributions of individuals who work for the good of the archives profession and of archival collections, and whose work would not typically receive public recognition. The nominee(s) should have achieved distinction in one or more of the following ways:

* Participating in special projects.

* Exhibiting tireless committee or advocacy work.

* Responding effectively to an unforeseen or pressing need or emergency.

* Contributing innovative or creative ideas to the profession.

* Performing extraordinary volunteerism.

* Quietly but effectively promoting the profession.


Awarded to an individual archivist or a group of up to five archivists who have collaborated on a project. Preference is given to archivists working in smaller repositories, especially those without institutional support for professional activities.

Nomination Requirements: A completed nomination form, downloadable at

Sponsor and Funding: The Society of American Archivists Foundation.

Prize: A certificate and complimentary registration (for up to five individuals) to the SAA Annual Meeting occurring in the year in which the award is presented.

Submission Deadline and Nomination Form: Deadline: February 28, 2013. Please complete the nomination form ( and email it along with any applicable supporting documentation to with the subject line “Spotlight Award.” Attachments should not exceed 5MB.

Alternately, nominations may be mailed. Materials must be postmarked by February 28, 2013, and should be sent to:

Spotlight Award Committee
Society of American Archivists
17 North State Street, Suite 1425
Chicago, IL 60602-4061

Questions should be directed to me as chair of the Spotlight Award Subcommittee, or 225-578-6546. Please visit for a list and explanation of all of the awards offered by SAA. The above information and past awardees is available online, (


Applications Open for the 2013 Governor’s Archives Awards

The Wisconsin Historical Records Advisory Board and the Wisconsin Historical Society invite your nominations for the Governor’s Archives Awards, which recognize outstanding work with Wisconsin’s historical documents. The awards honor individuals, programs, and organizations that have made significant contributions to preserving or increasing the availability of original historical documents in any format. Three awards are given annually for archival achievement, archival innovation and archival advocacy. The 2012 recipients of the awards were the Lake States Railway Historical Association of Baraboo and the Monroe County Local History Room and Museum in Sparta. For more information about previous winners, award criteria and the 2013 application process, visit or contact Simone Munson at

The deadline for submissions is April 1, 2013.